Mid-Month Update: May 2019

Hey friends, I’m back!

The end of April to the beginning of this month has meant slow progress for reading. It’s a busy time in year, so no shame in that, but my TBR has relentlessly piled up in the meantime. Between some really amazing Book Outlet deals (the entire Shades of Magic trilogy for $15!), a couple gifted copies, and a splurge at my local indie bookstores to celebrate a promotion at work I’ll be busy for months. On top of all of that, a slew of highly anticipated winter 2020 releases dropped on Edelweiss and I got approved for nearly a dozen books that I requested months ago, so my kindle has been inundated as well. As far as reads in this past month, there isn’t a whole lot to rave about except Birthday (review on 5/21) but I’ve finally picked up Red, White, and Royal Blue (I know, I’m late to the party, but it’s fiiine) and so far it’s quite good. So without further ado, here’s a look at what I’m currently reading, what I’ve added to my TBR in the past month, and a book I can’t wait to read. Pro tip: if you’re just here to skim, check out the titles in blue.

Currently Reading

Red, White & Royal Blue

Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

A big-hearted romantic comedy in which First Son Alex falls in love with Prince Henry of Wales after an incident of international proportions forces them to pretend to be best friends.

First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is the closest thing to a prince this side of the Atlantic. With his intrepid sister and the Veep’s genius granddaughter, they’re the White House Trio, a beautiful millennial marketing strategy for his mother, President Ellen Claremont. International socialite duties do have downsides—namely, when photos of a confrontation with his longtime nemesis Prince Henry at a royal wedding leak to the tabloids and threaten American/British relations. The plan for damage control: staging a fake friendship between the First Son and the Prince.”

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Continue reading “Mid-Month Update: May 2019”

This Post Couldn’t Wait: The Seep

I know this post is coming at you in the middle of a hiatus, but bear with me, it’s exciting.

So, I was browsing Edelweiss+ on this Friday night in and, as usual, I check out the LGBT+ review copies first. Of the 3,913 DRCs available for request or download as I write this, there are 6 in that category (which is heinous, but I won’t dwell on that for this post).

But anyways, 6. That’s one more than yesterday, so yay! So, among the titles I’ve been seeing on repeat for weeks, what’s new? The Seep by Chana Porter.

45448133“A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter’s fresh, pointed debut is perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Carmen Maria Machado.

Trina Goldberg-Oneka is a trans woman whose life is irreversibly altered in the wake of a gentle—but nonetheless world-changing—invasion by an alien entity calling itself The Seep. Through The Seep, everything is connected. Capitalism falls, hierarchies and barriers are broken down; if something can be imagined, it is possible.

Trina and her wife, Deeba, live blissfully under The Seep’s utopian influence—until Deeba begins to imagine what it might be like to be reborn as a baby, which will give her the chance at an even better life. Using Seep-tech to make this dream a reality, Deeba moves on to a new existence, leaving Trina devastated.

Heartbroken and deep into an alcoholic binge, Trina chases after a young boy she encounters, embarking on an unexpected quest. In her attempt to save him from The Seep, she will confront not only one of its most avid devotees, but the terrifying void that Deeba has left behind.”

When I say my heart was palpitating as I read this description, that was no exaggeration. Queer representation in this sort of genre-bending speculative fiction is extremely rare – all that I’ve seen recently amounts to a couple short stories in the first volume of Today, Tomorrow, Always (review here). So, if it wasn’t readily apparent, I’m insanely excited about this book and you can count on me chatting about it for the rest of this year.

The Seep will be released on January 21, 2020. It’s a long way off, but you can always save time later by adding it to your Goodreads TBR now!  Continue reading “This Post Couldn’t Wait: The Seep”

Mid-Month Update: April 2019

Hello, friends! I had a little dilemma last month as I put together the March Wrap-Up. I really love reading posts about what you’re currently reading, what’s on your TBR, and books you’ve recently hauled. Instead of churning out a bunch of updates out on top of the Monthly Wrap-Up, I figured I’d put together a mid-month update of this fun stuff to try and spread the book chat around.

Currently Reading

42193752

The Book of the Moon by Maggie Aderin-Pocock

In her lucidly written, comprehensive guide to the moon, Aderin-Pocock takes readers on a journey to our closest celestial neighbor, exploring folklore, facts, and future plans.
       
She begins with the basics, unpacking everything from the moon’s topography and composition to its formation and orbit around the Earth. She travels back in time to track humanity’s relationship with the moon — beliefs held by ancient civilizations, the technology that allowed for the first moon landing, a brief history of moongazing, and how the moon has influenced culture throughout the years — and then to the future, analyzing the pros and cons of continued space travel and exploration. Throughout the book are sidebars, graphs, and charts to enhance the facts as well as black-and-white illustrations of the moon and stars. The Book of the Moon will be published for the 50th anniversary of the moon landing.” – Summary from Goodreads.

Continue reading “Mid-Month Update: April 2019”

The Mystery Blogger Award

Picture1

Hello all! I’m a little behind on my reading right now so this nomination came at the perfect moment. This is the first time I’ve done one of these tags so I hope you enjoy getting to know me a little more. I’m really looking forward to reading all of your responses. Many thanks to Siobhan @ Siobhan’s Novelties for this nomination. If you aren’t following her reviews already I highly recommend that you do!

What’s the Mystery Blogger Award?

It’s an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging, and they do it with so much love and passion. – Okoto Enigma

Continue reading “The Mystery Blogger Award”

Monthly Wrap Up: March 2019

Hello book friends! Spring break meant this was a heavier month for reviews, so there will be a bit to chat about here. This month 10 books were reviewed on The Book Stack with an average rating of 4.1 stars. There were so many great books this month, I feel like you all may be getting the impression that I’m a super lenient reviewer.

In addition to all the new posts, a new directory of reviews was added this month! You can now browse all reviews sorted by title, author, and rating. You can also follow via email to receive book reviews in your inbox. Now that I’ve been at this on a consistent basis for two months I’ll be slowly adding on more to this website, participating in tags and challenges, and hopefully hosting a giveaway in the coming months!

I’ve had so much fun talking to everyone on here and on your own blogs, so if you’d like to connect with me on Goodreads, please do! I’m pretty active on there and I really enjoy seeing updates from my friends. Also, I’m slowly easing into to the world of bookstagram, so if you’d like to watch me fumble around there, you can find me at @the.bookstack

Best of March

No Man of Woman Born39878322This book was, in every sense, an utter joy to read. I tend towards really dark books, so the fact that each short story in this lovely collection had a happy ending was different than the norm and so refreshing. The stories nimbly subverted the longest standing cliches of fantasy without sacrificing the best parts of the genre. You can read the full review here and you can see me rave about this book more on the Trans Day of Visibility post.

 

43397089Eight Lives: What a hell of a debut. Speaking of books that have been on my mind for weeks since reading them, here’s Eight LivesThis book was published by a small Australian press so I know this incredible story won’t reach so many people. Do not be one of those people. This is one of the easiest five star ratings I have ever given. Eight Lives has all the technical intricacy of The Martian, but centered around medicine with multiple perspectives and nonlinear elements and it is still fantastic. Yeah guys, Susan Hurley did that. You can read the full review here, in case I haven’t already convinced you.

 

What I’m Looking Forward to in April

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C. A. Fletcher:  40698027If a book is described as “for readers who loved Station Eleven” I’m pretty much guaranteed to pick it up. This was one of the first things I heard about A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World and, lo and behold, here we are. Nothing like a little post-apocalyptic fiction to kick off spring the right way.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs. Then the thief came. There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you. Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

Alpha Girls by Julian Gurthe:  41429816I was approved for Alpha Girls months ago and I’ve been eagerly awaiting it since. I feel like it will be popular among the same crowd that enjoyed Bad Blood, since we have another journalistic account of women in Silicon Valley.

In Alpha Girls, award-winning journalist Julian Guthrie takes readers behind the closed doors of venture capital, an industry that transforms economies and shapes how we live. We follow the lives and careers of four women who were largely written out of history – until now.

Lost and Wanted by Nell Freudenberger:  40177418This is my April Book of the Month pick. I have no idea when I’ll be able to fit it in between all the ARCs I’m packing into April but I’ll persevere!

Helen Clapp is a physics professor. She doesn’t believe in pseudo-science, or time travel and especially not in ghosts. So when she gets a missed call from Charlie, her closest friend from university with whom she hasn’t spoken in over a year, Helen thinks there must be some mistake. Because Charlie died two days ago.

 


What are you looking forward to reading in next month? Are we going to be reading any of the same books? Let me know below!